When you use a browser, like Chrome, it saves some information from websites in its cache and cookies. Clearing them fixes certain problems, like loading or formatting issues on sites.


After you clear cache and cookies some settings on sites might getdeleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again. If you turn sync on in Chrome, you’ll stay signed into the Google Account you’re syncing to in order to delete your data across all your devices. Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.


TABLE OF CONTENTS

In Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More.
  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.
  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes. Make sure no other boxes are checked.
  6. Click Clear data.


In Safari

  1. Activate the developer tab. Go to Preferences > Privacy > Advanced > Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar
  2. In the top bar, click develop, then click "empty caches" in the dropdown menu. 


In Firefox

  1. Click the menu button Fx57Menu and select Preferences.
  2. Select the Privacy & Security panel.
  3. In the Cookies and Site Data section, click Clear Data….
  4. Remove the check mark in front of Cookies and Site Data.
  5. With Cached Web Content check marked, click the Clear button.
  6. Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you've made will automatically be saved.